The National Credit Union Administration, commonly referred to as NCUA, is an independent agency of the United States government that regulates, charters and supervises federal credit unions. NCUA also operates and manages the National Credit Union Share Insurance Fund (NCUSIF). Backed by the full faith and credit of the U.S. government, the NCUSIF insures the accounts of millions of account holders in all federal credit unions and the vast majority of state-chartered credit unions.

Share insurance coverage offered through the NCUSIF protects members against losses if a federally insured credit union should fail. You can confidently join and conduct business with federally insured credit unions because no member has ever lost a penny from accounts insured by the NCUSIF.

The standard share insurance amount is $250,000 per share owner, per insured credit union, for each account ownership category. 

Your Insured Funds Brochure

How Do I Know My Credit Union Is Federally Insured?

Types of accounts covered:

  • Single ownership accounts
  • Joint accounts
  • Retirement accounts
  • Trust accounts
  • Revocable Trusts
  • Irrevocable Trusts
  • Business accounts

Share Insurance Estimator