Get to Know MAFCU

There's simply no better place to help manage your finances in Montgomery County, Maryland than at Mid-Atlantic Federal Credit Union (MAFCU) - and virtually anyone can. Consumers and businesses that are part of this community save more - and earn more - with MAFCU loans, savings and checking accounts, which offer better rates and fewer fees than those at other financial institutions.

MAFCU is a not-for-profit financial cooperative managed for the sole benefit of our members. Our volunteer Board of Directors and professional management team work hard to make sure MAFCU is "better than your bank" and help every member achieve their financial goals.

Founded in 1968, MAFCU has always done what’s best for our members, so we've avoided some of the risky lending practices that have hurt many of our "big bank" competitors. We remain strong, stable and financially secure. We are also federally insured so you can trust that your money is safe with us.

And because we're a community credit union, we give back to Montgomery County by supporting local causes, offering innovative financing solutions to our neighbors, and sponsoring free educational programs for both consumers and businesses.

Best of all, joining MAFCU is simple. Membership is open to individuals who live, work, worship, or attend school in Montgomery County, as well as their immediate family members and local businesses. A $5 deposit into a MAFCU savings account is all you need.


Annual Reports

For more information on Mid-Atlantic Federal Credit Union (MAFCU), please view our Annual Reports.

2020 Annual Report

2019 Annual Report

2018 Annual Report


Winter 2021

Fall 2021

Summer 2021

Members of the Executive Team

  • Bill Brooks, President and CEO
  • Tamara Schiavone, SVP, Chief Financial Officer
  • Charlie Cha, SVP, Chief Information Officer
  • Alan Speck, SVP, Chief Lending Officer

Board of Directors

  • Randy Scritchfield
  • Allen P. DeLeon, CPA
  • John G. Boothe
  • Wynn Watkis
  • Katherine Wellner
  • Robert Roop
  • Tony Spearman-Leach 

Supervisory Committee

  • Tony Spearman-Leach
  • Jerry Zillion
  • Shane Rock